Venice · Italy
a&o Hostel Venezia Mestre
Bedwantsrapporten
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Great location for getting to Venice: the public transport stop connecting the mainland with Venice Island is only about a 5-minute walk away. There is also a supermarket about 10 minutes away on foot and a luggage locker station nearby. The hotel has a spacious and comfortable common area on the ground floor, which is very useful if you arrive before check-in or need to wait after check-out. There is also a bar with reasonably priced food. Check-in and check-out were smooth, with both staff-assisted and self-service options. The air conditioning worked very well. The room was cozy and nicer than expected from the photos, with plenty of good-quality towels and a comfortable bed. It was also quiet at night. We had seen some Google reviews mentioning bed bugs, but we had absolutely no issues with them. The bedding was clean, and the room was generally well maintained. Some areas of the bathroom could be cleaner. If you look closely, you can see mold around parts of the shower and some buildup in the drain and around the toilet. It feels like the rooms have a very high turnover of guests, so the cleaning is not perfect in every detail.
-
Melding van een gast Google Maps
Lo único bueno de este hotel es la ubicación. Amanecimos con ronchas en la piel, y por lo que estuve leyendo es por las chinches que hay. Abrieron varias veces la habitación mientras dormíamos. De las frazadas/sabanas, nada practicas para dormir.
-
Melding van een gast Hostelworld
Literally stayed one night bed bugs bitten me everywhere and next day was little late for check out genuinely watched the cleaners reuse my bed sheets from night before.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Sind die Reise gar nicht angetreten aufgrund sehr vieler schlechter Google- Bewertungen über Bettwanzen in vielen der Zimmer! Das war leider über die Rezensionen bei Booking nicht ersichtlich. Wollte das Hotel sehr zeitnah stornieren als das aufgefallen ist. Leider war kein Kontakt mit dem Hotel möglich. Sämtliche Anfragen, auch von Booking direkt, wurden ignoriert. Keinerlei Einsicht etwas zu ändern und keinerlei Service leider.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
La ubicación es lo que le da sentido a quedarse en este lugar. Está a una cuadra de la estación de Mestre. Es como viajar en una aerolínea Low Cost, pero pagando la tarifa más cara (sin que te den los beneficios). Me quedé en una habitación privada, con baño privado. Te cobran por todo. Ni siquiera tienen agua de cortesía, hasta te cobran una miseria para pesar el equipaje. 🤣 Dormí con miedo de que hubiera Bed Bugs por todos los comentarios que leí en Google Maps (y que acá no había visto).
-
Melding van een gast Hostelworld
bed bugs. they have bed bugs. bed bugs.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
L'emplacement La saleté des chambres.... Nous avons fait la chasse au punaises de lit en.voyant les autres commentaires... Il y avait de la nourriture au sol, de la poussière partout , des saletés et impossible d'aérer la chambre convenablement.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Auch beim zweiten Besuch war im a&o Venezia Mestre alles besser als erwartet. Das Zimmer war ausreichend groß und gut gereinigt. Bettwanzen, wie in anderen Bewertungen bemängelt, hatte ich nicht gefunden. Die Matratze war sauber und angenehm fest. Das Badezimmer mit Dusche war ebenfalls sauber. Frühstück im Hostel war umfangreich mit sehr leckerem Kaffee. Jederzeit gern wieder! Nichts.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Wir hatten ein wirklich gutes Zimmer. Wie in vielen anderen Rezensionen beschrieben wird, soll es Bettwanzen, Schimmel usw. geben, das war bei uns nicht der Fall. Unser Bad war sehr sauber, ohne Spuren von Schimmel. Die Dusche war sehr schön und groß, und es gab genug Stauraum für Gepäck und persönliche Sachen. Besonders gut fanden wir, dass sowohl Duschgel als auch Waschgel im Bad vorhanden waren. Wir hatten das Zimmer 521. Was ausbaufähig wäre: Das Frühstück ist, wenn man länger als drei Tage dort ist, sehr eintönig. Es gibt wenig Abwechslung und nicht viel Auswahl. Im Zimmer wäre es außerdem schön, wenn die Fenster gereinigt würden, da man den Ausblick dann besser genießen könnte. Ein großes Bett wäre ebenfalls besser als zwei separate Betten.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
WARNING: INFESTED WITH BEDBUGS – AVOID AT ALL COSTS! I got bites all over my body on this hotel. I messaged and received ZERO RESPONSE from management. This place is a nightmare – countless reviews mention bedbugs in Google Maps, yet nothing is done. STAY AWAY unless you want to be tortured by itchy, painful bites and ignored by staff. HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE – what is cheap ends up being expensive, we had to go to the doctor because it was so much we had a terrible allergic reaction. We wouldn’t recommend it to my worst enemy. Bedbugs in the beds in room 701. No matter how much you write, they offer zero solution, it seems their policy is to ignore and not be responsible about a recurring problem they have on their hotel
-
Melding van een gast Hostelworld
The only good thing about this place is its proximity to the metro station is 5 minutes away. When we first came in there was 3 people behind the front counter, and they all made eye contact but continued to ignore us until I finally gave up and did the self check in option. On the app this place said it didn’t take card, only cash. But the self check in only did card. This self check in placed us in a private room of nightmare. Bed bugs! When we told the staff they didn’t seem surprised either.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
- The room was generally dirty and poorly maintained. The bed sheets had holes and felt worn out, the floor didn’t feel clean, and there were stains and splashes on the walls and light switches. There was also mold in the shower. After making the reservation, I noticed several reviews mentioning bedbugs and mold, so I tried to contact the property for two weeks before our stay. I received no response to any of my messages, and the property also ignored booking.com’s attempts to contact them on my behalf.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
bed bugs
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Bed bugs ruined my trip.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Location There are bedbugs, and the response from the hostel is disappointing.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Nothing The hotel was an absolute disgrace. The level of mold under the shower was absurd, the corridors were filthy, as well as the room itself. Stains on the blankets and an enormous level of dust. Beware because reviews on booking do not indicate bed bugs that were evident in multiple reviews on Google which we unfortunately saw on the day of check in. We haven't slept at all, we're looking for bed bugs instead. After one night (of total 2) we decided to check out early because of horrid hygiene conditions and infestation threats. We have demanded a refund for the second night, since we were checking out around 9 a.m. and so far no answer. The receptionist gave us a blank paper sheet and asked for our bank details, there was no legitimate refund form ! Also instructed us to write to the refund department, it was almost a week ago and still no answer. We have tried via booking and been informed that there is no agreement on the hostel side, although the hotel has not yet contacted us directly. We lost money, plenty of time, were stressed because of the necessity to find another stay..all in all one of the most awful hotel experience in my life. Not to mention that after the return trip the anti- infestation measures was necessary regarding our things. This single experience of one night in Hostel Venezia almost ruined entire holiday.
-
Melding van een gast Google Maps
ASQUEROSO HOTEL!! Junto con mi esposa nos encontramos de luna de miel y teníamos reserva en este hotel, al llegar nadie nos atendía, no hablaban español a pesar de tener un letrero que indicaba que habia traductor. Al ingresar al dormitorio el olor a humedad y moho era terrible, el baño estaba lleno de moho por la ducha, llaves, etc. La alfombra con suciedad, la ropa de cama amarilla y con olor asqueroso, cabello humano en los colchones, chinches y quizás que más. Nos cambiaron de pieza y era exactamente las mismas condiciones. Solicité reembolso y lamentablemente no quisieron hacerlo. NUNCA MÁS VUELVO A ESTA CADENA DE HOTELES.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Das Personal, die Lage und die Gepäckaufbewahrung. Viele haben von Bettwanzen berichtet und dies beunruhigt einen sehr.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
The only positive thing was the location of the hotel. Do not stay at this accommodation. We found bedbugs in the room. We asked the reception if they could refund our money so we could stay somewhere else, but they said it was not possible. The only thing they did was move us to another room. We again found insects on the walls, so we left for another hotel, having lost all our money. The room had not been cleaned — there was dust, we found used tissues under the bed, there was mold in the bathroom joints, and the showerhead was black from mold. If it were a cheap accommodation, I could at least find some excuse for all this...
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
El sector de estar estaba bien, cómodo y amplio Te tiran las mudas de cama en tu cama arrugadas y sin armar. La recepción tiene personas muy mal educadas. No quieren ayudarme con el auto checking y no quisieron hacerlo, me obligaron a ingresar 5 quest luego de viajar 8 horas. En la habitación había chinches y tengo un video para subir a Google
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Nada El higiene del hotel horrible, baño con mucho hongo, Ropa de cama manchada y con mal olor, cabello humano entre las sábanas, chinches que me dejaron todo picado y no me quisieron hacer reembolso por qué no tenían más habitaciones. También en recepción tenían un letrero que indicaba que tenían un traductor y nadie hablaba español.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
The rooms were cheap for the option and clean. The checkin at 3pm was very problematic. Since the check in is completly automatic, you cannot even request the receptionist for earlier checkin. You can use the washroom there if you ask for the key. There were complaints of bedbugs although we didnt face any.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Very nice location. Afordable price compare to other property. Very nice lobby. Standard room facility but it was OK. The workers were trying to be as helpful as possible, which is nice and feels more like in asian hotels. Kitchen was broken. They should update this situation in the website/booking.com. But there’s plenty option for food outside of the hostel. Unfortunately we found bed bugs that really disturb our stay there. They offered the new room, washing of all clothes and putting luggage in the fridge. Still because if this problem we have to spent two nights for moving to a new room and dealing our clothes.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Die Lage und der Preis sind super. Dafür ist das Hotel mit Bettwanzen verseucht. Uns wurde mehrfach auf Rückfrage ein neues Zimmer gegeben, jedes Mal mit Wanzen. Das geht so nicht. Als Entschädigung haben wir einen einzelnen kostenlosen Drink bekommen. Das Personal war bemüht, konnte aber auch nicht viel ändern.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Great location: very close to all amenities, easy access to Venice. Cleanliness issue: bed bugs in the room, I couldn’t sleep and had to leave the bed during the night. Comfort to improve: room on the 9th floor, despite the AC it was cold at night with some draft coming in. Better soundproofing would also be appreciated.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Hotel sucio Cama con chinches
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
The location The kitchen wasn't available. It has been closed for 2 weeks so I couldn't cook my own food which I had already bought when I arrived cause I didn't want to spend money in restaurants every day. They should have informed to all the future guests that the kitchen wasn't available. By that time I couldn't change to another place cause they didn't give my money back the same day of my arrival. What's more, after my second and last night I woke up with bites all over me — looks like they might be from bedbugs or fleas! The plug in my bed was broke so I couldn't charge my phone during the night and the bathroom at the room was dirty.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Upon checking in, I found bed bugs on the bed in the room. I immediately requested a room change.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Only good thing about this hostel is the short distance from the train station. we moved hotels after 1 night due to the severe uncleanliness of the hotel rooms. I appreciate this is a ‘budget’ place, but we expect it to be clean as standard. Our shower was covered in black mould and the towels in the bathroom were very damp. The towels had blood on them. We also found multiple bed bugs in our bed and around the bed, absolutely disgusting. The floor was filthy. After speaking to others, this seemed to be a common thing with this hotel. When we moved hotels, the staff in there also said this is a common for people to move from this hotel. We don’t complain at all about hotels but this was disgusting
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Architecture Room and cleanliness. It was an okay place with great location and prices until I found out I got bit by bed bugs and black mold in the bathroom.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Good location Unfortunately during our stay I became covered in itchy red bumps (pictured below) I spoke to the reception desk, who seemed aware of a bed bug infestation. The agent inspected the room, found evidence of bed bugs and informed me that all he could do for me was refund the price of itch cream.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Near the station and shops The toilet is dirty. And i foung bedbug in my bed.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Cerca de la estación de tren y de autobuses. Hay un McDonald's cerca y un Interspar para comprar. La luz de la habitación era muy tenue y no se podía intensificar. La limpia de la habitación estaba regular, de echo cogí chinches (ya ha pasado una semana y sigo con medicación y con las heridas de las chinches)...
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
There is nothing to like about this place. Everything was awful. The rooms are very dirty, it smells bad. There were mold everywhere in the bathroom and I think they have bedbugs because I was beaten by something and it looks like bedbugs.
-
Melding van een gast Hostelworld
Bettwanzen!!!
-
Melding van een gast Hostelworld
The only positive thing I can say about the hostel is the location and the reception staff. The cleanliness of the room was terrible, the shower cabin was clogged with hair, and during my entire 3-night stay they weren’t able to clean it. After sleeping I was bitten by bedbugs. Next time I would definitely avoid this hostel.
-
Melding van een gast Google Maps
Horrible experiencia, habitaciones sucias, había chinches, las paredes sucias llenas de sangre, el baño sucio y pésimo servicio y atención. No lo recomiendo para nada
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
location WARNING! BED BUGS!!!! the hotel was overall ok but that we've got bed bugs bites in the hotel.... it is unacceptable. unfortunately we didn't search for "bed bugs" in the reviews. try to do that and you will be impressed. they even have a brochure in the hotel about bed bugs which means that this is a regular thing there. we came at about 11 and paid some extra fees for "early check in" after a long journey from home and fell asleep. After that we've discovered some bites but didnt understand what it was because we are not familiar with bed bugs and didnt have such a problem before. after each night there were more and more bites, they were itchy and painfull, my wife suffered a lot because of that. the main problem that we have expensive mountain equipment (sleeping quilts, backpacks, tent, expensive hiking clothes and shoes) which are contaminated now and cannot be washed in 60 degrees celsius or be frozen... the tech support said that they will refund all the cleaning but then began to denay everything. it is obvoius if they have a brouchure about bed bugs that it is very common, now we need to think how to decontaminate all our equipment and not to bring that sh!t home. We are not even talking about that my wife suffered a lot and the vacation was almost ruined... another story is that there is almost always a scedule at the reception but this is nothing against the bed bugs problem... next time we will search for the bed bugs in the reviews. in 5 days we've booked another hotel without any bed bugs in reviews and surprise-surprise. no new bites! think twice before booking and dont leave your luggage opened! be prepared and make right decisions!
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
location WARNING! BED BUGS!!!! the hotel was overall ok but that we've got bed bugs bites in the hotel.... it is unacceptable. unfortunately we didn't search for "bed bugs" in the reviews. try to do that and you will be impressed. they even have a brochure in the hotel about bed bugs which means that this is a regular thing there. we came at about 11 and paid some extra fees for "early check in" after a long journey from home and fell asleep. After that we've discovered some bites but didnt understand what it was because we are not familiar with bed bugs and didnt have such a problem before. after each night there were more and more bites, they were itchy and painfull, my wife suffered a lot because of that. the main problem that we have expensive mountain equipment (sleeping quilts, backpacks, tent, expensive hiking clothes and shoes) which are contaminated now and cannot be washed in 60 degrees celsius or be frozen... the tech support said that they will refund all the cleaning but then began to denay everything. it is obvoius if they have a brouchure about bed bugs that it is very common, now we need to think how to decontaminate all our equipment and not to bring that sh!t home. We are not even talking about that my wife suffered a lot and the vacation was almost ruined... another story is that there is almost always a scedule at the reception but this is nothing against the bed bugs problem... next time we will search for the bed bugs in the reviews. in 5 days we've booked another hotel without any bed bugs in reviews and surprise-surprise. no new bites! think twice before booking and dont leave your luggage opened! be prepared and make right decisions!
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
The hostel is conveniently located 5 minutes from Mestre train and bus station. The room was big and the bed was comfortable. It was quite cheap compared to other options in the area. The common areas were nice. We were pretty worried because right before checking in we read a lot of recent comments reporting bedbugs. Fortunately for us, we didn’t find any in our room and we didn’t get any bites. The room was quite dirty: the sheets and towels were clean but there as a lot of dust, hair and mold in all the corners, under the bed, in the bathroom … you could tell they only do the bare minimum. The corridors and stairs were pretty run down as well. In summary it turned out alright for us but I don’t think I would stay back here unless they upgrade their hygiene policies.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
It was a horrifying experience. I am covered by bed bug bites after my stay there. It also caused a lot of stress around bring the bed bug home with me from there.
-
Melding van een gast Hostelworld
I stayed one night, arriving in the evening and leaving early to catch a flight. Everything looked clean and facilities were very nice but I got EATEN ALIVE BY BEDBUGS. My whole face and body are covered in bites. I was given fresh sheets on arrival so they must have been in the mattress or doona. I had a look in the morning and saw multiple bed bugs. Such a shame as otherwise this hostel was great! I advised the security staff on duty when I left and he was helpful and kind. Still, awful night.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
I can’t sleep night there is bedbugs Room 731. Midnight 3 am I change room then shift room clean outside clothes, i am very tired that time my plan just one night Venice my 3 children infected bites they started red in body They need stop hotel minimum 7 day and extermination whole building i saw room they try to some spray before
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Nothing! The whole property is filled with bed bugs, junk and mold.
-
Melding van een gast Google Maps
Ya había probado este tipo de cadena en Copenhague. Fui ahora a Venecia de vacaciones pero muy mal, en la habitación habían chinches. Tengo todo el brazo lleno de picaduras de animales, he tenido que venir a barcelona y ir al médico porque me ha hecho reacción. Por lo demás muy normal, los empleados van a su rollo no te hacen mucho caso, pedí a la cena espaguetis por la aplicación y pasaron 30 minutos me acerqué y no tenían. No fueron capaces de decírmelo antes o buscar una solución? Me quede sin cenar porque era tarde. Quisiera más implicación y limpieza!! 🫶🏻👋🏻
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Location Garbage from previous guest was left on the bunkbed. My son also got bedbug bites are now spreading on his body
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
Proximity to railway station and venice. Bunk bed of my kid was full of bedbugs!!!! This is not a joke. He wanted to sleep with my wife, so I took the bunk bed instead. Thank god it was me. The first night I thougth i had been bitten by mosquitos, but no..., the second night I open my flash light in the mobile, as I was feeling again not well and it was horrendous. Bed bugs everywhere, i have been stung around 40 times.. gross... I killed several of them,mattress, wall, they were all with blood, my blood!! This was not good at all. The day after I show pictures at the reception, and they told me they would only pay me the pharmacy cream!!! We left of course. At least a reimbursement should be expected.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
We had to leave before even checking in and find a new hotel because we read a lot of comments saying the days before they found bed bugs on the same floor as ours and we didn’t feel safe.
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
-Very friendly crew on reception/ security! -Location - really quiet room even from street side - No bed bugs xd -comfortable beds Absurdly dirty room , especially under bed/ bed frames/ windows. I never saw such dirty hotel room - such amount of mold inside the shower is disgusting
-
Melding van een gast Booking.com
la ubicación es cómoda, a unos metros de la estación la primera noche amanecí toda picada, tuvieron que cambiarme de habitación, las sabanas limpias que me dieron de recepción tenían chinches cuando las abrí para armar la cama, volvieron a cambiarme de cuarto, la cama nueva que me dieron todavía tenia las sabanas y el toallon usado de la persona anterior, un horror la higiene, la solución que me dieron? una free drink del bar
Vibe-analyse
a&o Hostel Venezia Mestre is een grote chain-stop bij station Mestre: nuttig om Venetië in te komen, makkelijk te begrijpen en praktischer dan romantisch. De lobby kan levendig genoeg voelen, maar dit is vooral een transitmachine. Het zwakke punt is de ops-and-trust laag. Recente gasten beschrijven kapotte lockers, bagageopslag die na checkout niet echt beschikbaar is, onbehulpzame reacties van personeel, vieze kamers, security-zorgen en de vreemde insectenklacht. Het is niet de engste row in deze pass, maar het is een plek om waardevolle spullen gecontroleerd te houden en verwachtingen mechanisch.
Signalen om te checken
- Bagageopslag en lockers zijn mogelijk niet betrouwbaar.
- Reactie van personeel op problemen kan dun zijn.
- Recente reviews noemen security-, schoonmaak- en insectenzorgen.